3 weeks ago

Netball NZ announce 24-strong New Zealand Secondary School squad

Netball New Zealand has announced a 2022 New Zealand Secondary School squad who will come together for a trial camp in October. 

The 24-strong squad will take part in a four-day camp later this year which will also act as a trial from which a NZSS team and NZSS A Selection side will be named. 

Netball NZ Emerging Talent Panel Convenor, Adrienne Morrin, said the panel, which included herself, Robin Manihera, Nicki Patterson along with coaches Te Aroha Keenan and Pelesa Semu had selected the squad from the 85 players who attended three National Development Camps in January, the Zone feed forward process and U18 National Championships. 

From here the Emerging Talent Panel will name a team after observing players from regional and New Zealand Secondary Schools Championships as well as trial games at the camp from 21-24 October. 

Morrin said the challenges of Covid-19 over the past two years had meant a change in focus for the NZSS programme. 

“We wanted to allow players to concentrate on their school and representative commitments first with Netball New Zealand providing an opportunity for further development at a camp later in the year, and the chance to be finally selected in a team,” she said. 

“I know Te Aroha and Pelesa are delighted to be able to provide this opportunity and are looking forward to finally being able to work with the players in this group.” 

NZSS head coach Te Aroha Keenan said it was exciting to name a squad after a long and thorough selection process and was looking forward to giving the school players the chance to experience the performance programme following the disruptions in recent years. 

“The New Zealand Secondary Schools team is part of our performance pathway and an important step for many of these young athletes,” she said. 

“I can’t wait to bring these players together in camp and see how they have progressed over the year, and just have the chance to work alongside them is really exciting.” 

The squad includes two Fijian internationals with Lili Tokaduadua, who has been at Howick College for two years, and reserve Eseta Waqaira who has been in New Zealand since 2019 both meeting Netball NZ selection criteria. 

Netball NZ have also named five reserves including Ashlyn Koce (Mainland), Braxton Gallagher (Central), Priscilla Rasmussen (Northern), Eseta Waqaira (Northern), and Marewa Samson (WBOP). 

New Zealand Secondary Schools Squad: 

Kahlia Awa (Central) – Hastings Girls’ High School 

Liza Ball (WBOP) – Hamilton Girls’ High School 

Rileigh Campbell (Northern) – Howick College 

Taiana Day (WBOP) – St Peter’s School, Cambridge 

Zoe Elliot (Central) – Woodford House 

Sarah Guiney (Central) – Samuel Marsden Collegiate 

Kaiya Kepa (WBOP) – Hamilton Girls’ High School 

Anna Kirikiri (WBOP) – St Peter’s School, Cambridge 

Caitlin Lafaele (Central) – St Mary’s College, Wellington 

Le’Oxeayn Maiu’u (Northern) – Mt Albert Grammar 

Charlotte Manley (Northern) – Saint Kentigern 

Aaliyah Metcalf (Mainland) – Lincoln High School 

Khanye-Lii Munro-Nonoa (Northern) – Saint Kentigern 

Brooklyn Murray (Northern) – Howick College 

Emilie Nicholson (South) – Columba College 

Savannah Samson-Tuinukuafe (WBOP) – St Peter’s School, Cambridge 

Phoenix Schwalger (Central) – St Mary’s College, Wellington 

Sienna Stowers-Smith (Mainland) – St Andrew’s College 

Sera Taei (WBOP) – St Peter’s School, Cambridge 

Summer Temu (Northern) – Mt Albert Grammar 

Madison Thomas (Central) – Manukura 

Stella Tia (Northern) – Waitakere College 

Lili Tokaduadua (Northern) – Howick College 

Catalina Young (Northern) – Mt Albert Grammar 

Back to news