The latest news and updates from Netball New Zealand

Netball WBOP name Beko squad for 2018 season

The Netball Waikato Bay of Plenty Zone (Netball WBOP) have announced their Beko Netball League squad for the 2018 season. Featuring players from throughout the Zone, the squad provides a mixture of youth and experience.

Head Coach Mary-Jane Araroa said naming the team has been one of the toughest selection processes and has enjoyed working with a dedicated and committed group of young talented players over the last few months.

"I'm really pleased with the mixture of rising athletes and experience that will represent our 2018 BEKO Netball League team. We are very eager to put to work this group, in producing a strong brand of netball and realising their true potential as individuals and team,” said Araroa.

“Being the stepping stone to the highest level of Netball in the Zone, it is important that we support and grow the squad – this will ensure the future of high performance Netball in the Zone and New Zealand is well looked after”.

Rohan West, Netball WBOP CEO is also excited about the squads naming. “Congratulations to all the athletes selected in the Netball Waikato Bay of Plenty squad for the 2018 Beko Netball League. This is the pinnacle of amateur representative Netball, so the players, their families, coaches, Centres and Schools should be proud of this achievement.”

“The Beko Netball League is tough and competitive, but under the expert guidance of Head Coach Mary-Jane Araroa, the squad has been preparing very well and will be eager to represent the Zone to the best of their ability. The league kicks off with a game against Netball South at Te Aroha Events Centre on Sunday 13 May, and I urge our netball community to support the team at this game and throughout the season” said West.

The 2018 Netball WBOP Beko Netball League squad:
Courtney Elliot (Hamilton City)

Lyanne Eukaliti (Hamilton City)

Simmon Howe (Hamilton City)

Lisa Mather*** (Hamilton City)

Kelsey McPhee (Hamilton City)

Jenna O’Sullivan (Hamilton City)

Emily Patterson ** (Hamilton City)

Hannah Ridling*** (Hamilton City)

Hannah Riddle-Pelchen (Hamilton City)

Harley Smith*** (Whakatane)

Kiani Stevenson (Hamilton City)

Jaydi Taylor Chaffey (Hamilton City)

Emily Ussher (Hamilton City)

Khiarna Williams * (Whakatane)

Ali Wilshier (Hamilton City)

* Secondary School Player subject to Netball New Zealand approval
** Player subject to medical clearance
*** Magic Training Partner

Head Coach: Mary Jane Araroa

Assistant Coach: Rebecca Gabel

Team Manager: Dairne Burns

Physiotherapist: Amanda Foster