The latest news and updates from Netball New Zealand

Netball South names squad ahead of Beko Netball League

Netball South head coach Georgie Salter has finalised her team of 12 players to defend the Beko Netball League title.

The team, as well as an additional four squad members, was selected following trials in Dunedin on Saturday.

Netball South squad for 2017 Beko Netball League:

Olivia Bates – Dunedin

Ella Brown – Eastern

Tarryn Dickson – Dunedin

Aliyah Dunn* – Invercargill

Sophie Erwood – Dunedin

Ngawai Eyles – Invercargill

Taneisha Fifita – North Otago

Zoey Flockton – Dunedin

Dani Gray – Dunedin

Georgia Heffernan* – Dunedin

Kate Heffernan* – Dunedin

Ashleigh Smith – Eastern

The wider squad members are Sarah Boomer, Laura Moffatt, Lucy Heenan and Kiana Pelasio (all Dunedin).

The South team will also be able to enlist the services of Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel young guns Abbey Erwood, Jamie Hume and Jennifer O’Connell as per ANZ Premiership and Beko Netball League eligibility rules.

The Beko Netball League commences on March 25 culminating in a grand final on June 18.

NOTE: * Secondary school students Aliyah Dunn, Taneisha Fifita and Georgia and Kate Heffernan are all subject to approval from Netball New Zealand.