The latest news and updates from Netball New Zealand

2019 National Development Camp athletes named

Netball New Zealand has invited 50 athletes from around the country to take part in January’s 2019 National Development Camp.

The group – which was selected, based upon performances at National Age Group Championships, Regional Secondary Schools and NZSS Championships and in conjunction with Zone led talent identification programmes – will be split into five teams to attend the three-day camp in Cambridge.

NNZ Chief Executive Jennie Wyllie said the National Development Camp was an opportunity for prospective talent to display their ability and netball skills.

“We want to extend and inspire our development players and see how they operate in a challenging performance environment,” she said. “The camp is essential as we continually look to improve the athletes progressing into the Netball New Zealand pathway.”

Players will undergo a series of movement competency screenings with fitness tests to be submitted prior to the camp.

A competitive short-tournament structure will be held during the three days where the players’ ability to thrive under pressure will be observed.

The five teams will be led by coaching experts including New Zealand’s Pathway to Podium (P2P) specialist coaches – Jodi Brown, Irene van Dyk, Sandra Edge, Rebecca Gable and Anna Galvan.

P2P head coach Yvette McCausland-Durie and Tania Karauria will also provide support to these coaches in the build-up to the camp which runs from January 18-21.

The National Development Camp invitation list:


Saviour Tui, St Marys College Wellington
Madison Awahou, Manukura
Rochelle Fourie, Manukura
Liana Mikaele-Tuu, Hastings Girls High School
Lyric Paewai, Manukura
Maddie Feauanati, St Marys College Wellington
Sharnay Leef, Wellington East Girls College
Tesara-Rose Faleafaga, St Marys College Wellington
Danae Abolins-Thompson, Onslow College
Paris Lokotui, Queen Margaret College
Isla Vink, New Plymouth Girls High School
Parris Mason, New Plymouth Girls High School
Rachel Albiston, Samuel Marsden Collegiate School


Khiarna Williams, Trident High School
Hylan Potts, Hamilton Girls High School
Kataraina Ormsby, St Peters School Cambridge


Lina Pale, St Margarets College
Olivia Wilkie, Rangiora High School
Fiapalagi Lai Kong, Middleton Grange School
Olivia Burnham, Villa Maria College
Julia Wynands, Villa Maria College
Jess Milne, Timaru Girls High School
Quantelle Hira-Kapua, Hillmorton High School
Samara Northmore, Villa Maria College


Taneisha Fifita, Waitaki Girls High School
Kaya Laban, South Otago High School
Kate Hartley, Southland Girls High School
Meg Sycamore, Columba College


Vika Koloto, Baradene College
Leehava Saverio, Howick College
Violet Toto, Howick College
Sharon Tiumalu, McAuley High School
Grace Nweke, Avondale College
Anna Millar, Epsom Girls Grammar School
Jasleen Singh, Saint Kentigern College
Nanise Waqaira, Howick College
Lisa Putt, Saint Kentigern College
Katie Te Ao, One Tree Hill College
Jessie Taylor, Whangarei Girls High School
Genesis Heta, One Tree Hill College
Aaliyah Rooney, Mt Albert Grammar
Ruby Sussock, St Cuthberts College
Ana Manuopongai, Epsom Girls Grammar School
Francesca Tua, McAuley High School
Danielle Dephoff, Bay of Islands College
Jaymie Kolose, Saint Kentigern College
Cecile Veighe, Saint Kentigern College
Sila Matuatia, St Dominic’s College
Kylie McGahan, Westlake Girls High School
Latonya Lole, Mt Albert Grammar